More Adventures Of The Great Brain

Paperback | February 9, 2004

byJohn D. FitzgeraldIllustratorMercer Mayer

not yet rated|write a review
This second book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.

Has Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, given up his con-artist ways for a bicycle?  Not for long.  Soon the Great Brain is back to his old tricks, swindling and trading, and even convincing the whole town there's a prehistoric monster on the loose. But when someone robs the bank, even the police are stumped.  Can the Great Brain solve the crime and put the crooks behind bars?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$6.50 online
$9.50 list price (save 31%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

This second book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.Has Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, given up his con-artist ways for a bicycle?  Not for long.  Soon the Great Brain is back to his old tricks, swindling and trading, and even convincing ...

John D. Fitzgerald was born in Utah and lived there until he left at eighteen to begin a series of interesting careers ranging from jazz drummer to foreign correspondent. His stories of The Great Brain were based on his own childhood in Utah with a conniving older brother named Tom. These reminiscenses led to eight memorable Great Brai...

other books by John D. Fitzgerald

The Great Brain
The Great Brain

Paperback|Feb 9 2004

$7.74 online$9.50list price(save 18%)
The Great Brain Is Back
The Great Brain Is Back

Paperback|Jan 10 2017

$9.50

Me And My Little Brain
Me And My Little Brain

Paperback|Feb 9 2004

$6.50 online$9.50list price(save 31%)
see all books by John D. Fitzgerald
Format:PaperbackDimensions:176 pages, 7.75 × 5.06 × 0.47 inPublished:February 9, 2004Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0142400653

ISBN - 13:9780142400654

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

Customer Reviews of More Adventures Of The Great Brain

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Greatest Children's Series Ever I read the books out of order to my daughters so we finished with this one. It is a nice one to finish with. It has all of the things I love about the Great Brain books (my fav children series) and avoids making the Great Brain too ruthless and money grubbing as some of the later books do. We have the creative and engaging stories with Tom (the Great Brain) solving a robbery, uncovering the mystery of a ghost, and my personal favourite, the Great Brain teaching a girl how to read. I liked the last one the best because it showed the best of Tom. Many stories have him looking a bit heartless, so it was good the author threw in stories like this to show he also wanted to help. Along those lines the chapter when he threw a funeral for a town dog was also very touching. And him saving his family when his father gets them lost was also a nice touch. This whole series is amazing and should be on any parent's reading list for their children. I know my 6 and 9 year old daughters loved all the books.
Date published: 2016-11-05

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

* [The Great Brain] emerges as possibly the youngest, and certainly one of the most engaging, con men in print!"--School Library Journal