New Kid by Jerry CraftNew Kid by Jerry Craft

New Kid

byJerry CraftIllustratorJerry Craft

Paperback | February 5, 2019

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.99

Earn 80 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Title:New KidFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:256 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.68 inShipping dimensions:9 × 6 × 0.68 inPublished:February 5, 2019Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062691198

ISBN - 13:9780062691194

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoughtful and Funny! I think both parents and kids will enjoy New Kid by Jerry Craft. I was laughing out load and smiling while reading it and it also made me think about the different perspectives of the people on the page. I got an advanced readers copy from HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review. I myself enjoyed reading this book and I’m going to pass it along to my ten year old cousin because I know how much he enjoys graphic novels and I think he’ll like this even more than I did. #indigoemployee
Date published: 2019-03-28

Editorial Reviews

“An honest and compelling read for any kid looking for a place to belong.”