The Authentics

Hardcover | August 8, 2017

byAbdi Nazemian

not yet rated|write a review

A fresh, funny, and thought-provoking novel perfect for fans of Mosquitoland and All the Bright Places.

Daria Esfandyar is Iranian-American and proud of her heritage, unlike some of the “Nose Jobs” in the clique led by her former best friend, Heidi Javadi. Daria and her friends call themselves the Authentics, because they pride themselves on always keeping it real.

But in the course of researching a school project, Daria learns something shocking about her past, which launches her on a journey of self-discovery. It seems everyone is keeping secrets. And it’s getting harder to know who she even is any longer.

With infighting among the Authentics, her mother planning an over-the-top sweet sixteen party, and a romance that should be totally off limits, Daria doesn’t have time for this identity crisis.

The Authentics is an insightful look at culture, love, and family—the kind we are born into and the ones we create.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.99

Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

A fresh, funny, and thought-provoking novel perfect for fans of Mosquitoland and All the Bright Places. Daria Esfandyar is Iranian-American and proud of her heritage, unlike some of the “Nose Jobs” in the clique led by her former best friend, Heidi Javadi. Daria and her friends call themselves the Authentics, because they pride themsel...

Format:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.98 inPublished:August 8, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062486462

ISBN - 13:9780062486462

Customer Reviews of The Authentics

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A beautiful and compelling story about identity, race, and family love. A must read in an age where #weneeddiversebooks more than ever.”