The Light of Burning Shadows: Book Two of the Iron Elves by Chris Evans

The Light of Burning Shadows: Book Two of the Iron Elves

byChris Evans

Kobo ebook | July 28, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


**In the bestselling and legendary traditions of J.R.R. Tolkien, Bernard Cornwell, and Terry Brooks, the second novel in the acclaimed epic fantasy series following A Darkness Forged in Fire—where musket and cannon, bow and arrow, and magic and diplomacy all vie for supremacy in an empire teetering on the brink of war.

Disgraced elf officer Konowa Swift Dragon of the Calahrian Imperial Army has been forcibly returned from exile to resurrect the regiment he once led, the Iron Elves. These elves, born bearing the mark of an elf witch known as the Shadow Monarch, are shunned by their own people. In hopes of proving the mark false, the elves volunteer to fight for the Calaharian Empire in its quest to rid the world of dark magic. The regiment became legendary for its fighting ability, but all was lost in an instant when their commanding officer, Konowa, murdered the Calaharian Viceroy of Elfkyna, casting the loyalty of the elves into question. The regiment was banished to the desert, while Konowa was court-martialed and disappeared. Now, having found the mythical Star that was rumored to have fallen from the sky in a remote land, things couldn’t be worse for Konowa and the Iron Elves regiment as they trek through the blazing desert on their quest to defeat the Shadow Monarch once and for all....

Packed with wit, high adventure, and political intrigue, The Light of Burning Shadows will have readers hooked on this bold and exciting fantasy series.**

Title:The Light of Burning Shadows: Book Two of the Iron ElvesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:July 28, 2009Publisher:Pocket BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1439164584

ISBN - 13:9781439164587

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from The series stays strong The second book in the Iron Elves series starts immediately where A Darkness Forged in Fire finishes. The Iron Elves are clearing the Shadow Monarch's sarka har and rakkes from the 7 islands in the Onmedan Sea before heading to the desert to pick up the original Iron Elves. Or so Major Konowa believes. It turns out there are other reasons to head for the desert, and other magics at play. For a second star is returning, and several powerful people would like control of it. This book deals primarily with the fall out of the first book's actions. Those actions are only moderately explained, so you might want to reread the last few chapter of A Darkness before starting Light. The Iron Elves are not happy with the curse they're under or the power that comes with it. Private Alwyn Renwar has to deal with an artificial leg and the knowledge that death won't stop his pain. And when magical white fire seemingly sets one of their compatriots free of the curse, death suddenly doesn't seem such a high price to pay in order to achieve that freedom. A lot of authors forget that a large part of the story, especially when it comes to battle, is the downtime between confrontations and how the soldiers deal with the stresses that come from a military lifestyle. Chris Evans brings all of this in nicely, allowing the characters to develop from caricature soldiers into real people. The pacing is quick though at times it feels little is happening in the story as there's a lot more political intrigue than outright fighting. But it's a quick read and the ending has several surprises that will have you wishing the next book were already out.
Date published: 2009-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great follow up to the first one! As with various fantasy epic series I've read, there are different story arcs in this plot. You have the main plot; to stop the Shadow Monarch. Then you have Konowa's quest, which is to free him and his Iron Elves from this dreaded Blood Oath and to also recruit back his original Iron Elves army. Then you also have the interesting plot of Renwar, a soldier in the Iron Elves who has trouble with visions, and hears voices. He realizes he is different from the rest of them and wants desperately to end his Oath and free himself from his agony. True, this may seem like a lot to read, but it's not confusing or muddled. Everything is clear and easy to understand so you won't get lost while reading because eventually it all ties together in the end. I loved this book. Although I sort of had to go back and jog my memory a bit I loved the action and the doses of comedy mixed into this story. There is plenty of action so you will not be bored with this book. I find it interesting this nice mix of cannons and muskets with magic and swords. It add a uniqueness to this type of fantasy story and in some ways it reminds me a lot of the Sharpe series (which I enjoyed reading as well). There were parts in the story where the dreaded realization hits you and you're blindsided with a giant revelation or a surprise. I've been blindsided at least two or three times reading this book. Plus the ending was a total cliffhanger and I couldn't believe it ended that way and I had to reread the last few pages to make sure I got it right (but I still couldn't believe it ended like that) I find myself very attached to some of these characters (I usually do with several characters while reading fantasy). You actually follow Renwar more in this story as he's central to what's been happening, and you see how he develops as a character. I like Yimt. He provided the comic relief but you knew he loved his squad and cared for each of them in his own way. It was too bad you don't really read much of Konowa (not like the first one) as I like him a lot (he reminds me a lot of Richard Sharpe of the Sharpe series) but he's changed and not necessarily for the better. Overall a really good book. The plot moves quick and to the point. Unlike some series where when you reach the "middle point" of the series everything stands still then the series start to drag. Not with this one. You're taken to the next stage with more surprises in store. I can't wait for the third one.
Date published: 2009-09-07