The Savage Instinct

May 18, 2021|
The Savage Instinct by Marjorie Deluca
$22.99
Paperback
Earn 115 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Pre-order online.Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

"DeLuca keeps readers guessing. Minette Walters fans will be pleased." -Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood''s Alias Grace and Hannah Kent''s Burial Rites, this taut psychological thriller offers a delicious take on deviant and defiant Victorian women in a time when marriage itself was its own prison.

England, 1873. Clara Blackstone has just been released after one year in a private asylum for the insane. Clara has two goals: to reunite with her husband, Henry, and to never-ever-return to the asylum. As she enters Durham, Clara finds her carriage surrounded by a mob gathered to witness the imprisonment of Mary Ann Cotton-England''s first female serial killer-accused of poisoning nearly twenty people, including her husbands and children.

Clara soon finds the oppressive confinement of her marriage no less terrifying than the white-tiled walls of Hoxton. And as she grows increasingly suspicious of Henry''s intentions, her fascination with Cotton grows. Soon, Cotton is not just a notorious figure from the headlines, but an unlikely confidante, mentor-and perhaps accomplice-in Clara''s struggle to protect her money, her freedom and her life.
Marjorie DeLuca spent her childhood in the ancient cathedral city of Durham in North-Eastern England. She attended the University of London, Goldsmiths College, studied psychology, then became a teacher. Marjorie immigrated to Canada and lives in Winnipeg with her husband and two children.
Loading
Title:The Savage Instinct
Format:Paperback
Product dimensions:300 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.68 in
Shipping dimensions:300 pages, 8.25 X 5.5 X 0.68 in
Published:May 18, 2021
Publisher:Inkshares
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781947848672

Recently Viewed
|