The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGeeThe Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

The Thousandth Floor

byKatharine McGee

Paperback | June 6, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.32 online 
$12.50 list price save 25%
Earn 47 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

New York Times bestseller

This edition includes never-before-seen deleted scenes, fan-favorite graphics, and a sneak peek to the next book in the series, The Dazzling Heights!

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Big Little Lies, debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….

Katharine McGee is originally from Houston, Texas. She studied French at Princeton and then moved to Manhattan, where she began her publishing career at HarperCollins and later joined the Alloy Entertainment editorial team. After three years of plotting, outlining, and generally having far more fun than anyone ought to at work, she pit...
Loading
Title:The Thousandth FloorFormat:PaperbackDimensions:496 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 1.12 inPublished:June 6, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062418602

ISBN - 13:9780062418609

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh -- I'm Not Sold on This Book ​I feel pretty “meh” about this book. I kept seeing it on different lists as a “must read”, and I finally decided to read it for myself and it just didn’t hit high on my personal scale. When I love a book, I can’t stop reading it. With this, I felt like I had to force myself to open the book again. I didn’t totally hate this book, which I’d like to make clear. I really liked the technology that they get to use and think it’s would be so cool to have that now! I thought it was great to show different floors of the Tower and how dramatically different life is the further down you go; it’s clearly not a paradise, so at least that’s still realistic. And I really like Rylin, Cord, and Watt (sorry, I thought Atlas was a pain and I don’t get why everyone loves him so much) so I hope their stories get better. Either way, I’ll probably end up reading Dazzling Heights because I can’t leave a series only half-read. I’m hopeful that we’ll see more of my favourite characters and maybe the others will get a bit more development.
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looking Forward to More Of the five main characters this book followed, I only cared about 3 of them. I wish their stories had been more focused on, but overall, I really enjoyed this book and very much look forward to the other two in the series. #plumreview
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! It started with a hook and was hard to put down!
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Twisty and Thrilling How much did I love this? Let me count the ways... This was such a twisty, page-turning, fantastical story. I fell in love with it from the first few pages. The world McGee has created in a titanic skyscraper is one I wish I could visit in real life, even if it might be a bit of a monstrous eyesore. The systems and classes and lifestyles showcased in this are so thrilling to read because not one is the same. The same can be said for the characters themselves. Each and everyone of them, as unique and diverse as the next. It was wonderful to see so many backgrounds brought to life in one story. I also really enjoyed how each individual tale wove together with the next, the relationships growing between each. As for the great big who-dun-it question? McGee had me guessing right up until the moment it happened, and even then I was left stunned. I can't wait to read the next book because after waiting some time to get this book, it did not disappoint.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Read Such a great book that I read it in 2 days. If you're a fan of Gossip Girl then I would definitely recommend this book for you!
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real pageturner I saw this in a store and started reading it. And I have to say, I could not stop reading it. The story behind it is so interesting and so hard to resist not reading every character's perspective. Overall, amazing book 5/5.
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Page Turner So good that I finished the book in two days. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gossip girl in the future Loved a lot of familiar elements in this story - it's basically Gossip Girl set in a high-tech future, with a lot of focus on the fashion and some incest to keep things interesting. Loses marks at the end, which is really just a set-up for the sequel.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting I've always been fascinated with books that have perspectives from all important characters. Love the idea and story line.
Date published: 2017-06-25

Editorial Reviews

“McGee has done her work in world building and character development to make a juicy, memorable future that readers will want to revisit.”