This Savage Song

Hardcover | July 5, 2016

byVictoria Schwab

not yet rated|write a review

#1 New York Times Bestseller

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$14.86 online
$21.99 list price (save 32%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

#1 New York Times BestsellerThere’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books,...

From the Jacket

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s se...

Victoria Schwab is a fantasy writer best known for her novel Vicious.

other books by Victoria Schwab

The Archived
The Archived

Paperback|Jan 7 2014

$10.97 online$10.99list price
Our Dark Duet
Our Dark Duet

Hardcover|Jun 13 2017

$19.57 online$21.99list price(save 11%)
Spirit Animals: Fall of the Beasts Book 2: Broken Ground
Spirit Animals: Fall of the Beasts Book 2: Broken Groun...

Hardcover|Jan 1 2016

$14.89 online$16.99list price(save 12%)
see all books by Victoria Schwab
Format:HardcoverDimensions:464 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.41 inPublished:July 5, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062380850

ISBN - 13:9780062380852


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything you need in a Monster Novel What I loved the most about this book is that it played up a number of tropes—bad private school girl, isolated boy, dystopian city—but Schwab did not overly rely on them nor did I feel like the story was predictable. This book captured my interest in a way that no book has in quite some time. I was totally hooked, I kept thinking about it when I wasn’t reading it and still thought about it for some time after I finished it. I absolutely can’t wait until the next part comes out (I also really like that it’s a two part series and not a trilogy, those were getting overdone). It was dark, there was violence but just enough to fit in the world Schwab created and there is just the right amount of chemistry between our protagonists. I would highly recommend this to someone who is hesitant about the fantasy genre but still wants a complex story.
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More Monsters Please! I am a huge Victoria Schwab fan. I am head over heels in love with her Shades of Magic series and am still waiting for the third book in her The Archived series *taps foot patiently*. This Savage Song is yet another masterpiece from her. This Savage Song is a dark beauty. The story was chilly and gritty brimming with emotions. Each character was haunting and gripping in their own way. I plunged completely into the world while I read. Ms. Schwab conveys all the feels with her writing. Kate and August are both tortured souls. One fighting to be tough, the other battling within to stay sane. They struggled for acceptance. No amount of safety and/or protection helped. They wanted to find their own identities. Circumstances led them to depend on each other but on instinct they were cautious of one another. I love the genuine care they develop while in each other's company. It set the tone of their relationship and I am eager to see if it'll remain platonic or become something more. Though I have no doubt they will ignite some flames (romantic or not) in the sequel. What I found most fascinating about This Savage Song is the monsters. Born from violence, the kind coming into the world depends on the type of violent act commited. Bit by bit Ms. Schwab carefully gives us the relevant background to each kind. Controlled by Kate's father, the Corsai and Machai terrorize the North half of the city while the rarer Sunai reside in the South protected by its leader, August's dad. The truce between the two halves is as fragile as ever as forces make a play for power. Kate and August become pawns in a game but neither is naïve or innocent. It was a dangerous game but they played well. This Savage Song made my emotions spin. I couldn't put my finger on exactly what I felt for most of the characters. I felt so much. I had warring emotions for the villains. Should I be disgusted by their actions or pity them for the circumstances that made them so? I both loved and hated feeling the unsure. When the story reached its high point, I was nervous but so excited to see how things would play out. I thought it was clever of Victoria to exclude a certain piece of information regarding the monsters. The omission caught me off guard. I didn't think much right up until that moment but it is key to the turnout of the story. Was that intentional? This Savage Song had a satisfying wrap up. At the same time the story very directly shows us there will be more. That makes me happy. Only Victoria Schwab can make one want more monsters. I need more monsters please.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Savage Song This Savage Song is a story of monsters and the monstrous, of humans and humanity. Of what makes us and what defines us, of intent and intentions. Kate is cold, hard. Ruthless. She wants acceptance from her father, faith that she can be just like him. That he needs her around. That she can be the one to carry on his name. She waits for the day when he can let go of the past, of the sudden loss of her mother. Until then, she'll be hard as nails, shielding herself in armour. Waiting for the day to prove herself, waiting for the day her father will welcome her back. August is looking to help his family, to help protect those who are preyed upon. He's looking to be human, even with his monstrous origins. He doesn't want to be like the others, like his older brother. He looked up to his father, a protector. He lives his life locked away, alone, hiding his hunger. Wishing it wasn't there. Wishing his past wasn't there, full of death and sorrow. What are monsters? Who are monsters? What defines them? Can they be humans who assault and murder, drug and abuse and steal? Or can they only be fantastical creatures with sharp teeth and darkness in their eyes? What if one of those creatures is struggling to hold onto their humanity with both arms, both hands. Fighting every day to keep the shadows hidden, to control the hunger. This book is dark, full of things that go bump in the night and creep out of the shadows, ready to claw your eyes out. It's a deep look at humans and monsters, the acts that make us human and the acts that make us dangerous. It's also a look at the relationships the main characters have with their fathers. Both Kate and August look at their fathers as something to strive for, whether it be in terms of power or compassion. They want to prove to them that they can be trusted, be used in the oncoming battle. If you're any kind of monster fan or complicated character fan or Victoria Schwab fan, then you should give this book a read.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riveting New YA Dystopian Novel A few months ago I read the author's adult series (A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows) and proclaimed them my favourite fantasies since Harry Potter. I stand by that statement, but I'd like to add this book to that honour. It. Was. Riveting. I've rarely encountered an author who can construct such original, compelling, artful, and tangible worlds. Her characters are flawed, progressive, realistic, memorable, and entirely enchanting. The stars of this one, August Flynn and Kate Harker, are so utterly endearing (for all their faults) that you cannot help but love them. The plot too is ingenious. I never knew what was coming and could hardly stand to put the book down. Moreso, this book made me feel. I rooted for the characters and hurt with them. The tension in parts had adrenaline coursing through me. For me, this is the best thing a book can offer. I absolutely loved the first installment to this to-be, two-book saga. I cannot wait for the next one, or any of the author's future projects. Consider me a very, very ardent fan.
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent read! Schwab does an excellent job of building her fictional setting and describing the novels various monsters. Each is terrifying in its own way, playing on common fears often experience by humanity (darkness, tainted souls and vampires). Overall a must-read novel that is gruesome, action-packed and will stay with the reader long after they have finished the last page. Comparable to Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet, with the romance being replaced by friendship.
Date published: 2016-04-29

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“Gritty dialogue and realistic scenes of violence will have senior high school students who enjoy The Huner Games and Divergent series awaiting the next book in this series.”